A warm welcome to all friends visiting the site with a loving invitation to read my personal expressions on movies, music, poetry and life.

Music and Movies are like Ears and Eyes to me and if you also feel the same, then you are going to enjoy every moment spent on my works here, for sure.

Do send in your valuable comments and suggestions as they would be my guide for all the future works.

ENJOY!

 
 
  Directors I Love  
  Alfred Hitchcock  
  Mehboob Khan  
  Woody Allen  
  Akira Kurosawa  
  Basu Chatterjee  
  Bimal Roy  
  Charlie Chaplin  
  Chetan Anand  
  Govind Nihalani  
  Gulzar  
  Guru Dutt  
  Hrishikesh Mukherjee  
  Kamal Hassan  
  Ketan Mehta  
  Mrinal Sen  
  Quentin Tarantino  
  Raj Kapoor  
  Richard Attenborough  
  Sai Pranjpe  
  Satyajit Ray  
  Shyam Benegal  
  Steven Spielberg  
  Vijay Anand  
  Ram Gopal Verma  
  Ashutosh Gowariker  
  Mani Ratnam  
  Aleksandr Petrov  
  Saeed Akhtar Mirza  
  Shekhar Kapoor  
  Yash Chopra  
  Frank Capra  
  V. Shantaram  
  Billy Wilder  
  Rajkumar Hirani  
  Vishal Bhardwaj  
  Tigmanshu Dhulia  
  Dibaker Banerjee  
  Rajkumar Santoshi  
  Majid Majidi  
  Ritwik Ghatak  
  Clint Eastwood  
  Prakash Mehra  
  Manmohan Desai  
  Shoaib Mansoor  
  Anurag Kashyap  
  S. S. Rajamouli  
  B. R. Chopra  
  Stanley Kubrick  
 
  Also Active at  
  Gurmat Darshan.com  
  At Youtube.com  
  At Wordpress.com  
  At Facebook  
  At Twitter  
 
 
 
FROM THE GOOD
OLD DAYS
 October 2014 (8)
 September 2014 (12)
 August 2014 (12)
 July 2014 (21)
 June 2014 (23)
 May 2014 (24)
 April 2014 (23)
 March 2014 (22)
 February 2014 (26)
 January 2014 (28)
 December 2013 (10)
 November 2013 (14)
 October 2013 (16)
 September 2013 (14)
 August 2013 (14)
 July 2013 (12)
 June 2013 (11)
 May 2013 (23)
 April 2013 (10)
 March 2013 (14)
 February 2013 (14)
 January 2013 (15)
 December 2012 (18)
 November 2012 (14)
 October 2012 (15)
 September 2012 (14)
 August 2012 (15)
 July 2012 (12)
 June 2012 (14)
 May 2012 (16)
 April 2012 (15)
 March 2012 (10)
 February 2012 (11)
 January 2012 (11)
 December 2011 (10)
 November 2011 (11)
 October 2011 (15)
 September 2011 (10)
 August 2011 (11)
 July 2011 (11)
 June 2011 (13)
 May 2011 (16)
 April 2011 (14)
 March 2011 (11)
 February 2011 (10)
 January 2011 (12)
 December 2010 (10)
 November 2010 (12)
 October 2010 (11)
 September 2010 (11)
 August 2010 (12)
 July 2010 (12)
 June 2010 (11)
 May 2010 (14)
 April 2010 (15)
 March 2010 (14)
 February 2010 (12)
 January 2010 (15)
 December 2009 (12)
 November 2009 (14)
 October 2009 (15)
 September 2009 (18)
 August 2009 (14)
 July 2009 (16)
 June 2009 (18)
 May 2009 (16)
 April 2009 (18)
 March 2009 (20)
 February 2009 (19)
 January 2009 (20)
 December 2008 (20)
 November 2008 (17)
 October 2008 (21)
 September 2008 (19)
 August 2008 (22)
 July 2008 (23)
 June 2008 (21)
 May 2008 (25)
 April 2008 (22)
 March 2008 (25)
 February 2008 (22)
 January 2008 (22)
 December 2007 (24)
 November 2007 (22)
 October 2007 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
October 24, 2014 Friday     
movie reviews
As a regular feature of the site, I invite you to read my honest reviews on the new Hindi Films released from our own Indian Film Industry each Friday.
The Films are reviewed on the basis of different aspects involved in film making, including all its elements from the basic story idea to the final finished product. The idea is to write about a film impartially, ir-respective of any of my personal favourites. So the Stars featuring in it or the production house backing the film are not equivalent to any mandatory stars here in my unbiased reviews.
 
But at the same time, I would like to add that as per my own understanding or definition,
“A Critic is no final authority on a product and should not be taken as the final word on any film, whether big or small. We all have our individual preferences and choices, so its quite possible that one may like a film immensely which was just declared crap by any critic on a website or in a newspaper. So a true movie lover should always decide with his own instinct even after reading the review of a movie as his normal routine.”
Further, a review written by a critic should ideally be free of any personal agenda of satisfying a particular person, production house or any media group, which sadly is not the case in the real world. Here, an honest reviewer can even get thrown out of the job only because he didn’t praise a movie of a director close to the publishers. And an average film may get more stars just because the makers had arranged a private show for an individual critic only last evening.
So, we have both kinds of critics all over the world. One who writes for satisfying others and one who writes for his own self, for his own passion.  I dont know how the readers here would like to categorize me as a critic but thats what I honestly feel about the responsibility of a true reviewer popularly known as a critic.
In short, for me a film should be watchable and entertaining as a whole for all the viewers who are spending their time and money on it, sitting in the theater. Watching a new movie is always like a fresh exciting task for me and not a reptitive job as it may sound. I love to watch them every Friday with the same passion of a enthusiastic cinema freak irrespective of its cast or budget as you never know which one is going to surprise you all of a sudden.
 
Hence you can always log on here, for an honest review on the latest movies released, free from any personal preferences or favours. But still there can be a difference of opinion and for that I invite you all to write your detailed comments, discussing the movie from your own angle and giving your views for or against the review. It will be a great fun studying a particular movie from different perspectives together. So waiting for your views, suggestion and comments.

with warm wishes & HIS BLESSINGS,
Bobby Sing
 
(CLICK ON THE LINKS AT THE RIGHT, TO READ ALL REVIEWS)
 
10 March 2009 / bobbysing /
leave a comment
 
 
22 Responses to “ movie reviews”
rohit   
submitted on 13 February 2010

Hi
Very good effort keep it up

bobbysing
submitted on 13 February 2010

Thanks Rohit....& Keep visiting.......Cheers!

Ribhu   www.ribhu.com
submitted on 13 December 2010

Bobby, thanks! For saving me countless hours of bad movies before watching the really worthwhile ones. Your ratings rock!! Keep up the quality of your orginal reviews and I will keep returning back for more savings!

Ribhu   www.ribhu.com
submitted on 13 December 2010
Bobby,

Your reviews are great. The information will be so much more usable if only I could filter out movies that you've ranked 3 or above in 2010 or 2009. Keep up the good work my man.
bobbysing
submitted on 15 December 2010

Thanks Ribhu for your spirited words. Sure I will try best to keep it going.

Regarding sorting out the movies with 3 or more than 3 ratings, you certainly gave me an idea about posting a separate post on this topic at the end of every year.

Hence Thanks for sharing your thought and keep visiting!

Cheers! 

HIMANSHU   
submitted on 30 January 2011

I just came across a nice post verdict on movie swadesh (thru site http://bollywoodboxofficeindia.wordpress.com/2010/10/29/) in all new manner.
Would like to share with u as i guess u will like it too.


Watched "Swades"once again. The movie released in 2004 but its magic is intact and will be in near future. Directed by Ashutosh Gowarikar, Swades has Shah Rukh Khan as leading actor in the character of Mohan Bhargava. Movie is about an NRI who works in US and comes to India to take her mother-like Kaveri Ammaa.
I guess since many of us who are following Bollywood more passionately than average movie going audience, I suppose most of us have watched the movie. Hence, I will not go into the story of the movie, rather I will share some thoughts or you can term qualities of the movie.

 Swades comes across as a honest movie and as honest attempt from the team. Its not just a movie, which is made for 3 hours of entertainment or a reason to pass time. Its a phenomenon. It highlights the problem which a resident Indian and a non-resident Indian goes through, through the eyes of a non-resident. When one finishes watching the movie, there is a message and the message for all was loud and clear. Before discussing about what one takes with him/her after the movie, I would like to share some thoughts which I observed about the impeccable direction. The following are some finer points, which many of the makers would have over-looked or erred or ignored but not Ashutosh Gowarikar.

1. SRK travelling to New Delhi at the start shows him travelling in an Air India Aircraft. The seat belonged to Business Class and it is exactly same as Air India, Business Class actual seat in its aircraft. Reason I have travelled in an AI, Business Class.

2. SRK using an old and rusty calculator at his friend Rahul store. Any director would have used a new calculator which costs 450 Rs. But natural, as the director wanted and he gave natural look to all.

3. The movie is shot at a remote village near Mahabaleshwar area of Maharashtra state. People shown in the movie are actually the residents of the village. They were converted into virtual actors for the movie. The locations, houses, huts and surroundings are actual and real and its not a set.

4. Considering the movie was shot in Maharashtra, the vehicle (Caravan) which SRK uses has Delhis name plate, because the movie has Charanpur in Uttar Pradesh and SRK starts his journey from Delhi.

5. SRK is using his 4 shirts and 4 pants in all of the scenes shot in India. He uses his 4 pair of dresses repeatedly in the movie. How easy it is for an actor to order a new pair of dress? Instead, the makers sticked to the concept of perfection, as an NRI Mohan was not carrying much of dresses with him when he goes to Charanpur.

6. Kaveri Amma is shown as giving bath to a newly born baby. For all, who have not watched how a baby is given bath in rural areas, just watch that act of Kaveri Amma. I know it because my childhood was spent in almost as same as village as Charanpur.

7. The books which Gita (Gayatri Joshi) purchased in a store, are actually subjects of any Primary School in Maharashtra.

8. And now the most important part. Any director would have chosen any concept about Mohan Bhargavas (SRK) professional life. But here the director chose Global Precipitation Measurement (GPM) Project under NASA in USA. Just for the record, NASA would be actually launching the GPM Project in 2014 and it has exactly the same objectives as shown in the movie. For that purpose, NASA actually provided the makers with this information and they were allowed to shoot in the NASA headquarters.
Those were some finer points about the movie. The above goes to show the minuteness with which the makers have given due consideration to every concept and scene.

Now I would to share some important message which the movie tries to give or highlights some of the problems which the country is facing. Following are some of such issues which movie touches

1. Children leaving their parents or grandparents on chance and they have to take shelter of old age home.
2. Women not being considered as able as men.
3. Girls are do have as much privileges with respect to education, compared to boys.
4. Child marriage is still a practice in many villages of India.
5. Castism is solidly intact. In fact it had never been considered as problem. Peoples rights depend on where you are born, rather than what you do.
6. Illiteracy is a stumbling block even in todays time. Though there have been many programs to improve educational system, it has been limited only to few places.
7. Farmers being exploited by landlords for violating the provisions of contract, which are never favorable to a farmer to start with.
8. Middle-men eating more than 60% of the money. Products which are grown/made/produced/manufactured in remote areas has always been prey of middle-men in India. The actual makers or service providers getting far less than their due.
9. Lack of basic infrastructure, electricity in particular in far places of India. In some parts of India, the load-shedding is such that people get electricity for as less as 6 hours!
10. Faulty Government machinery. Actual programs not benefiting common man. Any benefit or program starts from top and before it reaches bottom, it is absorbed in middle. In other words Corruption.
Those were some points or message I took out from this movie. The strongest message I have kept at last. Apni Chaukhat Ka Diya aur Giving Light To Neighbors House.
When we always say that over 70% of Indian population lives in rural areas, this movie should actually win all kinds of accolades, awards and rewards. But its unfortunate that such an effort was never appreciated and was never given the popularity it deserved.
I had always maintained that Swades is not just a movie, its a phenomenon and hence is above ratings.

atul singh   
submitted on 16 March 2011

hello

i really like your reviews.

bobbysing
submitted on 15 March 2011

Thanks Atul for your short and sweet comment.

Keep Visiting and writing in......Cheers!

HIS BLESSINGS

Poonam   
submitted on 05 November 2011

Tomorow we are going for the movie "Mile Na Mile Hum". please share reviews.

bobbysing
submitted on 06 November 2011

Sure, But I may be a bit  late the review though.
Still thanks for your kind request.
Cheers!
HIS BLESSINGS

jyoti   
submitted on 02 March 2012

Hi, 
Hope u r good...
Actually i always die for searching the orginal and watching them,,,

Now i have something, i might be wrong but at the first instance when i saw the trailer of "blood money" have u seen it yet ?
if no then check it.. The very moment it gave me a hint of the of the scene from the movie of Tom cruise's "the firm". do u remember.. john grisham's the firm.

I don't know, i might be wrong but i feel like mukesh and mahesh bhatt have lifted this time again.
what do u say?


At last ... i feel good reading ur review. good job..

Thank you
Jyoti

bobbysing
submitted on 18 March 2012

Hi Jyoti, 
Hope u r good too and thanks for your kind words for my works here.
It really feels great to know that you too have great interest in this Cat-Mouse Game in Bollywood and thanks for sharing your inputs here at BTC.

Regarding "Blood Money" it does seem to be very close to "The Firm" but I also felt like seeing JANNAT trailer again with only the profession changing. Same love angle, big job, big house then girl being dis-satisfied, leaving the boy leading to a deadly end. Plus it also reminded me of another similar concept movie "The Devil's Advocate"

But Bhatts have most recently done it in MURDER 2 where they got inspiration even for the posters apart from the film.
And they repeated this just few days back which came in papers too that there upcoming film JANNAT 2 has an inspired poster from The MECHANIC and the film seems to be inspired from "LORD OF WAR". Chek out their trailers.

So they are indeed brave and daring enough to do so in todays small world instantly connected thru net.

Anyway Keep Writing and Be in touch always.

Cheers!
HIS BLESSINGS

Poornima shandilya   
submitted on 24 October 2012

I am waiting for your review of "Chakravyuh". I am a regular visitor at your site and I don't want to watch a movie without reading your critical review. It is a sheer waste of time to watch the mindless productions of Bollywood which neither amuse nor enlighten me.
You have a great insight to watch a movie critically, combined with an excellence of expression.
Thanks for all the good work you are doing in this area and my good wishes to you.

Poornima

bobbysing
submitted on 24 October 2012

Hi Poornima,
The review of CHAKRAVYUH is now online and thanks a lot for being a regular reader of my reviews and appreciating their viewpoint.
Your words really give me the much needed stregnth to keep going with the same passion and thanks for it once again.

Keep Visiting and Writing in,
Cheers!
HIS BLESSINGS

amit vig   
submitted on 03 November 2012

Hello bobby sir,
I am new visitor at your site, i am very happy to find your website,
I never go to watch movies without reading the review from taran adarsh
and other critics. but now i decided that i dont watch any movie without reading your reviews about movie's story,performance ,acting,music etc.

I think you are born for critic, you always explain the movie in so simple way which we understand easily about films.
Other critic like anupma chopra written only for money which they got from produ,direct, and actors for written review in his favor.
Keep going on sir, one day you got huge success in bolywood.
This is true not butering,

bobbysing
submitted on 10 November 2012

Hi Amit,
A very warm welcome to you here at Bobby Talks Cinema and thanks a lot for your big words of appreciation too.
Movies, Music and Poetry have been my passion since childhood and that is the reason I feel like writing about them as my natural expression.
I am glad to know that you could relate to my honest reviews here and lets see what future has in store in the coming years.

You are also welcome to join me at FACEBOOK as I frequently keep posting there too.

With a Big thanks once again, Keep in touch!
HIS BLESSINGS

Navnit Asthana   
submitted on 19 July 2013

Dear Bobby,
Did you remember, I've recommended you to watch " Graveyard of the fire flies" some time back and you have written the same lines that you are not watching animated movies..

Now, I'm seriously happy that you have finally reviewed it in your movie section.

It's is such a wonderful movie that one has to believe that animated movies can also make a big impact on our heart..

Thanks a lot once again.

Regards,
Navnit Asthana

bobbysing
submitted on 23 July 2013

Hi Navnit,
Thanks a lot for recommending the film long time back. Actually I had seen it a few months back but couldnt write about it at the site honestly.
Yes it is really a wonderful, emotional movie and that too as an animation film quite surprisingly.

So Keep Visiting and Writing in,
Cheers!

Gags   
submitted on 21 September 2013
Hi Bobby

Love your reviews .......waiting for your your take on Lunchbox. Please oblige

Regards
G
bobbysing
submitted on 23 September 2013

Dear Gags,
Thanks a lot for your love shown for my reviews. And reading your comment, I would surely try to post the reviews at the earliest on Friday or latest by Satruday morning itself.

Keep Visiting and Writing in.
Cheers!
HIS BLESSINGS

Naveen Kohli   
submitted on 15 October 2013
Hi Bobby,

I feel the marketing is also a drawback for the punjabi film which are going for a toss.

Some film are released in EGO of the producer. And the market get spoiled.

Things can be worked out if the producer work together and decide the release of their films. And keep the PUNJABI FILM INDUSTRY alive.

Regards
Naveen Kohli
09819869557
bobbysing
submitted on 22 October 2013

I hope it all gets in shape and becomes better in the coming years Naveen.
Thanks for visiting and writing in.
Cheers!
HIS BLESSINGS

Leave A Reply
Name
E-mail (will not be published)
Website
verification image, type it in the box Enter Verification Code
 
 
     
 
 
 
 
Reviews in All (558)

 
 
 
Inspired Hindi Movies
Alphabetical
List (361)
 
 
 
 
Articles on Music,
Poetry & Life (76)
Did You Know! (81)
Few Life Inspiring Words! (19)
Nostalgia (Books on Cinema,Vintage Magazines, Scans & more) (23)
 
 
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
 
 
 
   
 
   SEARCH
 
 
 
 
   
 
   
 
Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape
Google Analytics Alternative
 
 
 
 
The site is a collection of personal expressions of the writer to share his own views on different mediums of art, with no intention of hurting any person or organisation in particular. The site is also not responsible for any inappropriate acts practiced by the third party links added here only for information purposes.
   Visit bobbytalkscinema.com for Bollywood Movie Reviews, Inspired Cinema, Movies To See Before You Die, Amazing Bollywood Facts, Articles On Cinema, Music, Poetry & Life
 
Site Best View At 1024 X 768 Resolution & Above